The Marias River Watershed was formed in 2002 due to an increased interest in our natural resources and the requirements set forth by the Clean Water Act of 1972.

There are seven conservation districts - Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Pondera, Chouteau, and Big Sandy, that include two Indian reservations - the Blackfeet and Rocky Boy. All have taken a proactive approach in processing a watershed plan for the Marias River drainage.

The Marias River Watershed is divided into 5 regions in order to more easily manage the resources and conservation issues.